Print Friendly and PDF

The Constitution

A Written Constitution

Pointer One page for easy printing
Pointer Page 1 Preamble
Pointer Page 2 The People
Pointer Page 3 The Commonwealth
Pointer Page 4 The Legislature (Sections 1, 2, & 3)
Pointer Page 5 The Legislature (Sections 4, 5, 6 & 7)
Pointer Page 6 The Executive
Pointer Page 7 The President (Sections 1 & 2)
Pointer Page 8 The President (Sections 3, 4 & 5)
Pointer Page 9 The The Judiciary

Part 6. The Judiciary

Section 1. The Supreme Court.

1. The judicial power shall be vested in one Supreme Court, and in such inferior tribunals as exist now or as Parliament may from time to time legislate for and establish. There shall be twelve judges of the Supreme Court. They shall be appointed by the President, subject to ratification by the Parliament. The judges of all courts shall hold their offices during good behaviour. They shall be compensated for their services as provided for by law. The amount shall not be diminished while they hold office.

2. The judicial power shall extend to all cases, in law and equity, arising under this Constitution, the laws of the Commonwealth of Britain, maritime law and international law.

3. In all cases affecting relations between nations and with international public organisations, the Supreme Court shall have original jurisdiction. In all the other cases before mentioned, the Supreme Court shall have appellate jurisdiction, both as to law and fact, with such exceptions, and under such regulations as the Parliament shall make.

4. The Supreme Court shall determine whether any bill before Parliament that is referred to it by the President accords with the requirements of this Constitution.

Section 2. Trials

All criminal prosecutions shall be conducted in the name of the people. The trial of all crimes, except in cases of petty offences and of impeachment, shall be by jury, unless such right is waived. Trials shall be held in the locality where the said crimes shall have been committed; but when not committed within the Commonwealth, the trial shall be at such place or places as Parliament may legislate.

Section 3. Treason.

To wage war against the Commonwealth of Britain or to join or give aid or comfort to the enemies of that Commonwealth shall be treason. No person shall be convicted of treason except on compelling evidence of an overt act of treason. Parliament shall have power to provide for the punishment of treason.

Part 7. The Constitution.

Section 1. Extent.

Powers not delegated to the legislature, the executive or the judiciary by this Constitution are reserved to the people.

Section 2. Amendment.

Parliament, whenever two thirds of both Chambers shall deem it necessary, shall propose amendments to this Constitution, or, on the application of two-thirds of the national and regional assemblies, shall call a convention for proposing amendments, which, in either case, shall become a part of this Constitution when ratified by a referendum.

Section 3. Constitutional Status.

This Constitution, and the laws made in pursuance of shall be the supreme law of the land and shall bind the judiciary. Senators and Members of the House of Representatives and all executive and judicial officers shall affirm their loyalty to this Constitution.

Return to Top